President's Office

Dr. Vicki J. Martin

President of Milwaukee Area Technical College

Dr. Vicki J. Martin is the tenth president of Milwaukee Area Technical College. She has served in higher education for nearly four decades, at MATC for three decades and has led the college since 2014. The Milwaukee native and first-generation college student holds a bachelor's degree in sociology from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, master's degrees from the University of North Dakota (counseling and guidance) and Cardinal Stritch University (business management), and a doctorate degree in educational leadership and policy analysis from the University of Wisconsin- Madison.

In 2015, Martin launched the MATC Promise, a public-private partnership that provides free tuition for eligible new high school graduates. The first-in-Wisconsin program drew the attention of former Second Lady Dr. Jill Biden, who addressed MATC’s graduates in Spring 2017. In Spring 2018, Martin announced a major expansion of the program – the MATC Promise for Adults – which provides free tuition for eligible students to finish their degree.

She is leading MATC through its implementation of the American Association of Community Colleges' Guided Pathways framework to improve student success. Martin has attracted growing private-sector and foundation support to the MATC Foundation, serves on the steering committee of the Higher Education Regional Alliance, and is a founding leader of the M3 (pronounced M-cubed) initiative, which brings together MATC, Milwaukee Public Schools and UWM to transform the future of Milwaukee through education. She also is a board member of City Year Milwaukee and serves as the chairperson of the Bradley Tech High School Commission, where she has helped implement an Early College program connecting students to both college credits and career exploration.

In January, Martin was named to the Milwaukee Business Journal’s list of "19 Executives to Watch in 2019."


Office of the President
Downtown Milwaukee Campus
700 West State Street
Room M200


MATC Presidential History

Robert L. Cooley 1912 - 1940

William F. Rasche 1940 - 1958

George A. Parkinson 1958 - 1968

William L. Ramsey 1968 - 1981

Rus F. Slicker 1981 - 1990

Barbara Holmes 1990 - 1992

John R. Birkholz 1992 - 2001

Darnell E. Cole 2001 - 2009

Michael L. Burke 2010 - 2014

Vicki J. Martin 2014 -