Monday – June 18, 2018

Contact: Kathleen Hohl, Communications and Events Director
414-297-6208 (office); 414-235-7105 (cell);

MATC Lamp of Knowledge Recipients Announced

May 6, 2013


Thirty-six students who are graduating from Milwaukee Area Technical College will receive a Lamp of Knowledge Award, signifying academic achievement Thursday, May 9.

The students were nominated by instructors in their academic programs. Other criteria includes: leadership, co-curricular participation, community involvement, class contributions, study and work habits, and grade point average.

McKenzie Hall has been chosen the Outstanding Associate Degree Graduate; Tam Quy Hoang was selected as the Outstanding Technical Diploma Graduate. 

This year's honorees and their academic programs are:

Olushola Babatuyi, Accounting
Shannon Bartley, Welding 
Kathleen Becker, Information Systems Security 
Denise M. Bishop, Practical Nursing 
Kathy Bonchek, Meeting and Event Management 
Amy Brodzik, Culinary Arts 
Cheryl A. Buenger, Visual Communications/Computer Graphics 
Deangelo M. Collins, Carpentry 
Peter Couto, Teacher Education Track 
Sara P. Guza, Funeral Service 
McKenzie Hall, Supervisory Management 
James M. Heenan, Graphic Design 
Sheila Helgeland, Office Technology Assistant 
Tam Quy Hoang, Special Event Management 
Andrew W. Holst, Anesthesia Technology 
James H. Johannsen, Welding Technology 
Kiran K. Khatri, Business Management 
Gwendolyn Knight-Ford, Early Childhood Education 
Ruben Miranda Madrigal, Adult High School 
Stacey Martinez, Paralegal 
Staci G. Meissner, Web Designer 
Patricia Navarrette, Administrative Professional
Eric Page, Hotel/Hospitality Management 
Jacob R. Radovich, Marketing Management 
Andrea Rodriguez, Legal Administrative Professional 
Diane Romero-Shu, Dental Hygiene 
Chad Russ, Environmental Health & Water Quality Technician 
Sharon Searcy, IT Network Specialist 
Sara F. Spencer, Surgical Technology 
Jennifer A. Staab, Medical Administrative Specialist 
Roseanne D. Sullivan, Administrative Professional 
Amy Ullsperger, Fashion/Retail Marketing 
Elizabeth Wallace, Music Occupations
Megan A. Wantz, Cardiovascular Technology
Alisa Watts, Photography
Bourfue Yang, Electricity
Nathan J. Zink, Cardiovascular Technology

Matthew Wyszynski will receive the MATC President's Award. He is graduating with a individualized technical studies associate degree. The President's Award is a district-wide recognition for graduating students and is designed to honor academic achievement and reward contributions to the college and the community while enrolled at MATC. The President's Award is sponsored by the Office of the President, MATC Foundation, and American Federation of Teachers Local 212.